Overcoming Setbacks

I am learning through my own journey that working toward physical and mental wellness is not only challenging but at times you will likely face setbacks and it is how you respond to these that matters most.

I have a few examples from my own life.

1. My anxiety and depression are well managed, however I still have moments that the anxiety in particular wants to rear it’s ugly head. I may become upset, angry, or scared and have a hard time shaking it. However, it has gotten easier to talk to someone about it or calm my own self down. 

2. I told myself with this blog that I would never go longer than 1 1/2 to 2 weeks without posting and it has been 16 days. This is why I decided to post today. 

3. I started going to the gym in January and stuck with it for at least a few months. I started having problems with my gallbladder which interfered with me working out. When my gallbladder was removed I only had to wait 2 weeks before returning to the gym.  It took 8 weeks post surgery before I finally got back to the gym.

The thing I have learned is rather than throwing in the towel, get back up and try again. And guess what? Your body and mind will thank you for it. You cannot control or change what you did yesterday but you can choose today to try again.

Leave a Reply

