Why is Buying Lularoe and Brands Like it Addictive?                 A Personal and Psychological Perspective

Personal Perspective: 

I have always loved clothing but usually have bought clothes that are off a clearance rack. Then…I drank the Lularoe juice. I was surprised. Why would someone with a lot of clothes who is generally good with there money become hooked on buying clothes that tend to be priced at approximately the equivalent of full price mall/department store prices?

 I think Lularoe is so addictive not only because I love clothing but because I find their pieces to be kind of like art pieces that you get to wear. I appreciate the creativity of their items and enjoy being able to be creative with how I pair my items into outfits. I imagine that this creative/aesthetic aspect of buying brands such as Lularoe, Origami Owls, and Thirty One is what appeals to some of my fellow shoppers too.

In regards to Lularoe, some of their items run so big that they appeal to my vain side, need for validation, and fragile self-esteem.  It feels absolutely amazing to wear xxs-s in their clothing! In spite of never being more than a little bit overweight during my adult life, being in small sizes resonates with the part of me that remembers being the girl in high school that couldn’t wear even the biggest size Hollister sold by the time I reached my senior year. I have a feeling I am not the only one who feels this way. After all, wearing a smaller size than you normally do appeals to the desire many people have to feel slimmer.

Psychological Perspective: 

A lot of why buying items sold by independent consultants becomes addictive is based off of social psychology principles. One of these is the “foot in the door” technique. Initially, you may be asked to do a small favor such as attending a party where the product is being sold, to join a consultant’s online group, or to simply comment on a Facebook post for a chance to win something free. Then, you become more likely to do a bigger favor such as hosting a party or purchasing items. 

This brings me to the next important point which is nothing is ever truly free or only for the shopper’s benefit. By commenting on a post, you are spreading word of a consultant’s business. By giving away a free item or a discounting an item, you become a walking advertisement. If someone asks about your item, you are more inclined to share information that promotes the brand and/or consultant. If you win something free or get it deeply discounted, in excitement, you are likely to tell friends and family, which promotes the product and/or the consultant. Also, by consultants doing you a “favor” of giving you a free item, you are more likely to have a psychological need to return the “favor” by purchasing items from them.

Also, brands like Lularoe, Origami Owls, and Thirty-one appeal to the need some people have to feel unique and special by owning and wearing things that not everyone else owns. With Lularoe, each of their prints comes in limited numbers and this is capitalized on by consultants calling particularly sought after and hard to find pieces “unicorns” and making a big deal about “unicorn” items. With Origami Owl and Thirty-One, their uniqueness factor lies in their ability to be customized.

Final Thoughts:

I want people’s takeaway from this post not to be total resistance in buying from independent consultants but rather informed buying. Personally, I have found myself overbuying and overspending and I wanted to figure out why. That was ultimately what motivated me to write this in the first place. Now that I am aware, I can shop more thoughtfully. My hope is that those looking to understand over-buying/overspending will come away from this post having obtained a deeper understanding on this subject.

Leave a Reply

