Life Update: Licensure, Longing, and Learning Gratitude

life-1662879_960_720

Between work, writing for NaNoWriMo, and living life, I haven’t had much opportunity to post until today.  Nothing really original or riveting came to mind, so I thought that a life update would be appropriate.

As many of my friends know, I recently became licensed with the state of Florida as a mental health counselor. This is a huge milestone that I have worked toward for several years.  It means more job opportunities, the ability to get on insurance panels, and the ability to write Baker Acts. This is something I have wanted for so long and I am so excited about.

However, there are days like today when I know that I am not where I would like to be in my career long term.  Sometimes, this becomes very discouraging. My heart’s desire, my longing, is to work as an outpatient counselor in an office setting.

In the meantime, however, I get to have a very interesting, somewhat unique experience by being a prn (as needed) therapist in a hospital. I work nearly full time (and recently qualified for insurance benefits, which is exciting because I can save money that way). In the hospital, I primarily work in the ER conducting brief assessments on patients with psychiatric complaints and/or under Baker Acts. I also refer patients to other hospitals and arrange transfers. Also, I recently started picking up additional hours on our inpatient unit and assisting the social workers with intakes, court preparations, etc.  I work weird hours including some overnights. However, this also means that I have days off that those in a typical Monday-Friday 9 to 5 may not have.

Although I get discouraged when things do not fall into place in my timing, I have a lot to be thankful for. This includes health insurance, schedule flexibility, licensure, good friends and family, my church, and God’s love. I think that the challenge for myself and for many others is practicing gratitude.  I have found that for our health and wellbeing as well as for the wellbeing of those around us, it is imperative to focus less on what we want and don’t have and more on what we have already that we are thankful for.

 

Leave a Reply

