A Holistic Approach: What it is and Suggestions for Improving Overall Wellness

Over the past couple days, I have been learning about professionals called holistic heath coaches. What they do intrigues me and reminds me of how important it is to look at health-including mental health-from a holistic perspective. 

I believe that we are interconnected, holistic beings: mind, body, and soul. If one is not functioning well, it will affect the others. I am a firm believer that if you are not feeling well physically,  it is going to take a toll on your mind and emotions and if you are not feeling well emotionally, you are more likely to also feel unwell physically. I make this assertion because I have seen it in my own life, I have seen it in my clients & patients lives, and I have learned about it through reading various resources & through my training to become a therapist. 

Achieving complete, holistic wellness is a journey, one that I will admit I am still on myself. However, I want to provide some practical suggestions on things that I have found helpful that you can do that may improve your mental health and overall wellness:

1. Get enough sleep. Even if you feel like 8 hours of sleep is unrealistic, aim for at least 6 hours each night.

2. Eat for your needs. If you have food intolerances, food allergies,  diabetes, IBS, etc., this is crucial. 

3. Try meditation or other relaxation techniques. Focusing on taking deep breaths, how your body feels in the present moment, tensing and relaxing various muscles, are all ways that you can engage in basic relaxation. Also trying an app like Calm can be beneficial as well.

4. Feed yourself positive thoughts. Whether you come up with an original helpful coping thought, think of a scripture verse, or a helpful quote, any of these can help you shift from being overwhelmed by negative thoughts to being able to cope and feel more positive. 

5. Talk to someone when you are feeling stressed.  This can take the form of talking to a friend, a parent, a crisis line, even prayer.

6. Reach out for professional help if you need it. Therapists, life coaches, health coaches, dieticians, pastors, etc. are not just for those who are “desperate” or “crazy”. They are available to help people who are struggling in any part of their life who feel that they need to make a change in order to have a better life.

I hope this is a helpful introduction to the holistic perspective and that you are able to utilize these suggestions & find them helpful in living your best life!

Leave a Reply

